Study for my extinct and endangered series: Taming of the Shrew

This original pastel drawing measures 42cm H x 30cm W and is a study for my Extinct and Endangered series. It depicts two babies with a shrew.  In addition to this shot are a couple of detail images as well.

Taming of the Shrew or Two Babies with a Shrew, pastel on paper, 42x30cm, Amy M. Adams 2015

Detail I

Detail II

I actually ended up referencing this drawing when painting one of the dog-headed Saint Christopher icons. One of the babies and the shrew became the boy Jesus sitting at a body of water petting the shrew.

You can view that work here – https://niume.com/post/106915. Some of the studies in the Extinct and Endangered series reference some old historical works that have been released into the public domain, since libraries around the world have started to share old historical art images online. I like to use them as points of reference and especially when I need to reference an animal that is now extinct. In any case, even if they weren’t extinct, where can I find a shrew who is willing to sit still and allow me to draw him or her in my city or 2 babies for that matter 🙂 ? I like this idea of remaking and remixing works from our shared past. What do you think?Thanks for taking the time to view my art. If you want to see more, subscribe to my posts here on Niume. You can also find me on twitter @amyincluj,

Thanks for taking the time to view my art. If you want to see more, subscribe to my posts here on Niume. You can also find me on twitter @amyincluj, instagram @amyincluj and my website too http://amyadamsart.com.

#drawings #originalart #art #artwork #babies #shrew #tamingoftheshrew #study #visualarts #contemporaryart #remix #pastels #pasteldrawing #animals

Source: Study for my extinct and endangered series: Taming of the Shrew

Leave a Reply

